Skip navigation
Page Description

The following page is a blank template with a header that contains a quicklinks jump menu and the search UHD function. Page sections are identified with headers. The footer contains all required links, contact and emergency information.

Faculty & Staff

NameOfficePhoneEmail
Janice Ahmad, Ph.D. (Sam Houston)
Associate Professor of Criminal Justice
Interest: Women in Policing, Police Management Issues, and Crime Victims
C.340N(713) 221-8492ahmadj@uhd.edu
Barbara Belbot, JD (Houston), Ph.D (Sam Houston)
Chair, Department of Criminal Justice and Professor of Criminal Justice
Interest: Criminal Law and Procedure, Rights of Offenders, and Correctional Policy
C.340G(713) 221-8983belbotb@uhd.edu
Ashley Blackburn, Ph.D. (Sam Houston State)
Associate Professor of Criminal Justice
Interest: Offender Behavior and Correctional Policy, Rights of Crime Victims, Victimization among Special Populations, Research Methods for CJ
C.330M(713) 222-5326blackburna@uhd.edu
Michael R. Cavanaugh, Ph.D. (Sam Houston State)
Assistant Professor of Criminal Justice
Interest: Public Policy, School Searches, Section 1983, and Criminal Law
C.340R (713) 226-5578cavanaughm@uhd.edu
Traqina Q. Emeka, Ph.D. (Prairie View)
Associate Professor of Criminal Justice
Interest: Delinquency Theory, Juvenile Justice System, Corrections, Recidivism
C.340F(713) 221-8282Emekat@uhd.edu
Shannon Fowler, Ph.D. (Sam Houston State)
Associate Chair and Assistant Professor of Criminal Justice
Interest: Victimology, violent victimization, and criminological theory
C.330J(713) 223-7996fowlers@uhd.edu
Krista S. Gehring, Ph.D. (Cincinnati)
Assistant Professor of Criminal Justice
Interest: Women offenders; Gender-Responsive Programs, Policies, and Practices; Corrections and Correctional Rehabilitation; Risk Assessment and Classification; and Criminological Theory.
C.330K(713) 221-8483gehringk@uhd.edu
Judith Harris, Ph.D. (Texas Southern)
Assistant Professor
Interest: Similarities and Differences of Prisoner Reentry Between England and America, Women on Death Row, Criminalization & Marginalization of Homeless in Urban Areas, and Institutionalization of Inmates.
C.330E(713) 221-8274harrisjud@uhd.edu
Richard Hill, M.S. (Eastern Kentucky)
Lecturer of Criminal Justice
Interest: Organized Crime, Corporate Security, Organizational Management, and Criminal Investigations
UHD Northwest 352(713) 237-5411hillr@uhd.edu
Matthew Johnson, Ph.D. (Sam Houston)
Assistant Professor Department of Criminal Justice
Interest: Criminological theory, life-course criminology; longitudinal research; and victimology
C.340L(713) 226-5512johnsonma@uhd.edu
Larry Karson, Ph.D. (Wales)
Assistant Professor of Criminal Justice
Interest: Management and Policing, Ethics, Enforcement History, and Smuggling in America
C.330P(713) 221-8931karsonL@uhd.edu
Mark Kellar, Ph.D. (Texas A&M)
Associate Professor of Criminal Justice
Interest: Jail Operations and Management and Policing
UHD Northwest(713) 221-8495kellarm@uhd.edu
Marilyn McShane, Ph.D. (Sam Houston State)
Professor of Criminal Justice
Interest: Criminology, Criminal Justice Management, Punishment Philosophy, and History of Corrections.
C.340Q(713) 221-2757mcshanem@uhd.edu
Mary Elizabeth Beth Pelz, Ph.D. (Sam Houston State)
Dean, College of Public Service and Associate Professor of Criminal Justice
Interest: Gangs, Inmate Social Control, Community-Based Corrections, Institutional Corrections, Juvenile Justice and Delinquency, and Court Management
C.400C(713) 221-8194pelzb@uhd.edu
Rebecca Pfeffer, Ph.D. (Northeastern University)
Assistant Professor of Criminal Justice
Interest: Victimology, victimization of special populations, human trafficking, and crime prevention.
C.330C(713) 221-8194pfefferr@uhd.edu
Clete Snell, Ph.D. (Sam Houston State)
Associate Professor of Criminal Justice
Interest: Juvenile Delinquency Theory, Juvenile Justice Policy, Youth Tobacco Laws and Programming, and Mental Health Issues in Criminal Justice
C.340G(713) 226-5271snellc@uhd.edu
Hsiao-Ming Wang, Ph.D. (Sam Houston State)
Associate Professor in Criminal Justice and Director, Bayou Connection Program
Interest: International Issues in Criminal Justice, Statistics, Research Methods, White Collar Crime, and Security Management
C.340H(713) 221-8691wangh@uhd.edu

Adjunct Faculty

The office for adjunct faculty is C.330Q.

Telephone messages for any adjunct instructor may be left at (713) 221-5326 or 8943.

Department of Criminal Justice

1002 Commerce Street, Suite C.340
Houston, Texas 77002
Phone: (713) 221-8943
Fax: (713) 223-7409

Last updated or reviewed on 9/24/13

Find us on Facebook   Follow us on Twitter   Read Skyline   Join us on LinkedIn   News RSS   Events RSS