Skip navigation



Dr Richard Alo

Dr. Richard A. Aló, Co-Principal  
Investigator - Houston Louis B.   
Stokes Alliance for Minority        
Participation - HLSAMP            

Center for Computational Science
and Advanced Distributed Simulation (C2SDS)

Houston - Louis B Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation1


Minority Serving Institutions - CyberInfrastructure
Empowerment Coalition

The Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation is a program funded by the National Science Foundation, aimed at increasing the quality and quantity of students successfully completing science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) baccalaureate degree programs, and increasing the number of students interested in, academically qualified for and matriculated into programs of graduate study. LSAMP supports sustained and comprehensive approaches that facilitate achievement of the long-term goal of increasing the number of students who earn doctorates in STEM fields, particularly those from populations underrepresented in STEM fields. The program goals are accomplished through the formation of alliances. Phase I awards placed emphasis on aggregate baccalaureate production. Phase II awards augment the Phase I emphasis with attention to individual student retention and progression to baccalaureate degrees. Phase III awards augment the Phase I and Phase II with attention to aggregate student progression to graduate school entry.

Each alliance partner has a tailored program specific to the needs of their students. For more information regarding each partner’s program, please click on the link below:

1. This Program, UHD-LSAMP, is supported by the National Science Foundation under Grant No. HRD-040263.

Spring 2009 LSAMP Scholars


Rogelio Acuna

Tahlia Aickareth

Javier Alamirraa

Nameera Baig

Araly Barrera

Brandy Bell

Adriana Berry

Michael Butterworth

Jennifer Carmichael

Carlos Chavez

Samantha Fuentevilla

Cecilia Garcia

Walter Garcia

LaToya Green

Hooman Hemmati

Orlando Huerta

Jorge Jaramillo

Anthony Johnson

Jonathan Keele

Jeremy Kemp

Russell Kendrick

Rebecca Kern

Blake Lam

Tomy le

Marsida Lisi

Shawn Luce

Liem Luong

Amber Martinez

Hung Nguyen

Arlana Paterson

Norma Pereida

Phuong Pham

Marsha Ramesar-Babu

Reuben Rodriguez

Mayra Sanchez

Elva Sierra

Daniel Siddiqui

Mindy Swee

Matthew Stevenson

Nghia Tran

Meet our LSAMP scholars. All these scholarship recipients are students at the University of Houston-Downtown. They were selected from a group of equally qualified young proffessionals interested in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) to receive the LSAMP scholarship for the Spring 2009 semester. Allt his students have an excelent academic achievement as their GPA is above 3.0.


Page maintained by CST Web Support Technician

Last updated or reviewed on 5/21/12

   Click here to print this page

Find us on Facebook   Follow us on Twitter   Read Skyline   Join us on LinkedIn   News RSS   Events RSS