#### **University of Houston - Downtown**



STUDENT GOVERNMENT ASSOCIATION

# General Assembly- Summer 2016 June 9, 2016 Location One Main Building Coffee House 5pm – 6pm

# 1. Call to order (3 min)

- a. Pledge of Allegiance
- b. Roll call

# 2. Welcome- Introduction by SGA President Mustapha Nyallay (5 min)

# 3. Induction of Elected Senators (5 min)

- a. Esperanza Martinez, College Senator of Public Service
- b. Faryal Gul, College Senator of University College
- c. Baltzar Pacheco, Senator-At-Large
- d. Kayley Bolden, Senator-At-Large

# 4. Confirmation of Executive Board Members (5 min)

- a. Elizabeth Bosquez, Director of the Office of the Secretary
- b. Ruben Ruiz, Chief of Staff
- c. Peter Akinola, Assistant to the President
- d. Nghia Nguyen, Director of Treasury
- e. Elias Santibanez, Director of Public Relations & Marketing
- f. Jessica James, Director of Community Outreach
- g. John Locke, Director of External Relations
- h. Mykal Peterson, Director of Students Engagement

Motion to go straight into voting. Motion passes. Vote passes to confirm all Executive Board Members. All positions sworn in by Chief Justice, Armita Tajadod.

# 5. Confirmation of Appointed Candidates for College/ Senior Senator Positions (10 min)

- a. Yufei Geng, College of Business
- b. Mukarram Syedshah, College of Business
- c. Matthew Garcia, College of Humanities and Social Sciences
- d. Richard Jones, College of Humanities and Social Sciences
- e. Christopher Sneed, College of Public Servicef. Evan Howell, College of Science and Technology
- g. Mobeen Azhar, College of Science and Technology
- h. Kimberly Weber, College of University College

Motion to go straight into voting. Motion passes. 1 against, 3 in favor. Vote passes to confirm all Senior Senator positions. All positions sworn in by Chief Justice, Armita Tajadod.

# 6. Confirmation of Senators-At-Large Candidates (10 min)

#### a. Itunu Daramola

- b. Jessica Plascencia-Delgado
- c. Irene Nuñez
- d. Patricia Sepulveda
- e. Aaron Burgess

Motion to go straight into voting. Motion passes. Vote passes to confirm all Senator-At-Large positions. All positions sworn in by Chief Justice, Armita Tajadod.

# 7. Confirmation of Judicial Branch Candidates (10min)

- a. Rachel Gravlee, Attorney General
- b. Reymundo Reyes, Student Defender
- c. Christina Tegethoff, Associate Justice

Motion to debate or go straight into voting. Debate Closed debate. Motion to go into voting. Motion passes. Vote passes to confirm Judicial Branch candidates. All positions sworn in by Chief Justice, Armita Tajadod.

# 8. All positions Sworn In (5min)

# 9. Executive Report Time

a. Vice President: Hatziri Rancano (5min)

# **10. Open Forum (5min)**

- a. Future General Assembly Meetings
- b. Tentative GA meetings schedule
  - i. Thursday, July 21, 2016
    - ii. Thursday, August 25, 2016
  - iii. Thursday, September 22, 2016
  - iv. Thursday, October 20, 2016
  - v. Thursday, November 17, 2016

vi. Thursday, December 15, 2016 John Locke -Discusses Walk to Vote. Aaron Burgess -Budget Proposal Faryal Gul

# **11. Exiting Roll Call (2min)**

# 12. Adjournment- 6:11pm