#### University of Houston - Downtown



STUDENT GOVERNMENT ASSOCIATION

# **GENERAL ASSEMBLY MINUTES**

DATE: Thursday, October 5<sup>th</sup>, 2017 TIME: 4:00 PM LOCATION: A436

MINUTE TAKER: Miguel Sanchez

#### SGA ROLL CALL:

Faryal Gul	X/A	Ramiro Ojeda	X/X
Armita Tajadod	X/X	Jessica Delgado	/X*
Archie Gayle	X/X	Alan Modrow	/X*
Evelyn Garcia	X/X	Jasmin Gallegos	/A*
Shay Tatum	X/A	Diana Platas	/A*
Ignasio Hernandez	X/X	Angela Dawson	/A*
Aileen Sanchez	X/X	Adriana Mendoza	/X*
Deshunna Anthony	X/X	Jaspaul Uppal	/X*
Thomas Canny	X/X	Irene Nuñez	X/X
Elizabeth Bosquez	X/X	Carmen Zapata	/A*

#### **AGENDA TOPICS**

### 1. Pledge of Allegiance

2. Roll Call

TAKEN BY: Miguel Sanchez

### 3. Approval of minutes from previous General Assembly

#### **Discussion:**

- i. Motion to approve minutes.
- ii. Motion passes.

#### 4. Approval of Agenda

#### Discussion:

- i. Motion to move DACA Resolution before Budget Confirmation
- ii. Motion passes
- iii. Motion to approve agenda
- iv. Motion passes.

#### 5. New Business

#### Discussion:

i. Senate Appointments

- -Jessica Plascencia-Delgado: Junior Senator Senator-At-Large -Alan Modrow: Junior Senator - Senator-At-Large -Jasmin Gallegos: Junior Senator - Senator-At-Large -Diana Platas: Junior Senator - Senator-At-Large -Angela Dawson: Junior Senator - Senator-At-Large -Adriana Mendoza: Junior Senator - Senator-At-Large -Carmen Zapata: Senior Senator - College of Business -Jaspaul Uppal: Senior Senator - College of Public Service -Motion to confirm senators -Motion passes -Vote by consensus -No objections -All Senators are sworn in. -14 Senators total. -8 to meet quorum. Swearing in Ceremony -Chief Justice – Irene Nuñez -Director of the Secretariat – Miguel Sanchez -Newly Appointed Senators Speaker of the House Elections -Chief Justice interpretation of the constitution dispute -Motion to table -Motion to accept the Chief Justice interpretation -Motion passes -Elizabeth Bosquez and Shay Tatum are candidates for speaker -Move to Voting -Elizabeth Bosquez wins candidacy DACA Resolution -Senators Jessica Plascencia-Delgado and Ignasio Hernandez introduce the DACA Resolution -Motion to go into voting -Motion passes -DACA Resolution passes **Budget Confirmation** -Motion to approve budget -Motion passes -Budget passes Impeachment -Motion to impeach SGA President Faryal Gul -Motion passes -Motion to move into voting -Impeachment of SGA President Faryal Gul fails -Motion to impeach SGA Vice President Armita Tajadod -Motion fails
- 6. Open Forum

**Discussion:** 

ii.

iii.

iv.

v.

vi.

- i. Kelvin Dangtran
- ii. Jessica Plascencia-Delgado
- iii. Miguel Sanchez
- iv. Mykal Peterson
- v. Katy De La O
- vi. Alan Modrow
- vii. Esperanza Martinez
- viii. Dominic Spencer

## 7. Senator Report Time

### Discussion:

- i. College of Humanities and Social Sciences: Elizabeth Bosquez and Shay Tatum
- ii. College of Public Service: Deshunna Anthony
- iii. College of Science and Technology: Ignasio Hernandez and Aileen Sanchez
- iv. Senator-At-Large: Thomas Canny and Ramiro Ojeda

## 8. Judicial Board Report

### Discussion:

i. Chief Justice: Irene Nuñez

## 9. President Report Time

### Discussion:

i. President: Faryal Gul

# **10. Executive Board Report Time**

#### Discussion

- i. Vice President Armita Tajadod
- ii. Chief of Staff: Evelyn Garcia
- iii. Assistant to the President: Archie Gayle

**Miguel Sanchez** 

## 11. Open Forum

#### Discussion

- i. Kara Moore
- ii. Kelvin Dangtran
- iii. Mukarram Syedshah

## 12. Exiting Roll Call

TAKEN BY:

13. Meeting Adjourned

\*These senators were to be sworn in so their names were not called in first roll call.